Cross Country League Race 3, 12th January 2019

XC Men's Race 3The third race of the cross country league season saw the women’s and men’s teams in different locations, with the Men in the Birmingham & District Cross Country League Division 2 hosted by Spa Striders at Burton Dassett Hills Country Park, while the Women’s Midlands Cross Country League Division 2 race was held at Churchfields Farm, hosted by Droitwich AC. Both teams enjoyed undulating, some might even say “hilly” courses in good, if a little windy, conditions for Saturday’s races.

The Men’s team went into the second half of their season at the top of the table with a healthy lead over their nearest rivals, and continued to pressure the other teams in contention; our ‘A’ team finishing just 4 points behind Knowle & Dorridge to come second in the race, whilst extending their lead to 84 points going into the fourth and final race of the season. Henry Race 3Henry Brocklehurst was first home for Team Teal, continuing his streak of podium finishes in 3rd place, with Paul Thompson (8th) also in the top 10. The remaining scorers were Harry Thorpe (11th), Kevin Morris (21st), Mat Pollard (22nd) and Rich Bayliss (28th). The ‘B’ team also demonstrated their strength finishing in 2nd place on the day, ahead of their nearest rivals in the ‘B’ team table by 40 points. The whole squad numbered  a fantastic 26 on the day with thanks to their supporters and especially to Karen Hall for the photos.

The Women’s Team held onto their 4th place narrowing the gap on the top 3 (and promotion) places in their race in Droitwich. Nic Sykes lead the team with another comfortable victory, with Jess Bond (34th), Monica Baptista (37th) and Lorna Al-Ani (38th) as the remaining scorers in the main race. Along with Monica (13th) and Lorna (14th); Alison Price (19th) and Laura Gale (24th) helped the team to third in the Masters race. 23 women turned out for the club on the day, and were well supported by friends and family, including Dave Ellis who stepped into the official volunteering role, took the team photo and with the help of Robert McManus and others assisted with the fantastic new team tent.

XC Women Race 3The next XC action is the Midland Counties Championships which takes place on 26th January at Newbold Comyn, Leamington and of course the final League races of the season are on 9th February when the men are hosted by Trentham AC at Park Hall Country Park, Stoke-on-Trent whilst the women are hosted by rivals for promotion Gloucester AC at Cattle Country Adventure Farm Park, Berkeley nr. Gloucester. The Team Managers, Rhian and James would love to have the best attendance possible for the final league races. The Women’s team would particularly appreciate any supporters who are able to join us on the day, especially given the home advantage for Gloucester.

Men’s Squad Results

Pos Time Name
3 35:23:00 Henry Brocklehurst
8 36:08:00 Paul Thompson
11 36:40:00 Harry Thorpe
21 37:44:00 Kevin Morris
22 37:45:00 Matthew Pollard
28 37:59:00 Richard Bayliss
38 38:47:00 Iain Jones
42 39:02:00 Jonathan Stanforth
62 39:55:00 Paul Anderson
63 39:56:00 Christopher Collins
67 40:07:00 Grant Whigham
75 40:46:00 Stuart Pearson
76 40:49:00 Ian Faddy
82 41:17:00 Jonathan Mould
95 41:47:00 Ben Dodd
97 41:51:00 Andy Hoole
108 42:52:00 Simeon Whiting
116 43:25:00 Adrian Fowler
119 43:36:00 Andrew Hall
126 44:00:00 Stewart Bond
131 44:16:00 Daniel Wilson
152 46:53:00 Ian Mackenzie
154 47:06:00 John McKeon
161 47:53:00 David Powner
192 54:05:00 Stewart Crowton

Women’s Squad Results

Pos Name Time Category Cat Pos
1 Nicola Sykes 00:23:40 Senior 1
34 Jess Bond 00:28:54 Senior 19
37 Monica Baptista 00:29:14 Masters 12
38 Lorna Al-Ani 00:29:16 Masters 13
51 Alison Price 00:30:03 Masters 18
54 Heather Tyrie 00:30:11 Senior 28
60 Sara Foster 00:30:31 Senior 31
61 Laura Gale 00:30:36 Masters 23
66 Sarah Rock 00:30:55 Masters 28
73 Jo Green 00:31:10 Masters 33
76 Rhian Littlewood 00:31:18 Senior 35
82 Sara Hewison 00:31:49 Masters 36
88 Jaeda Goodman 00:32:20 Masters 41
90 Emma Hawkey 00:32:23 Masters 42
100 Jude Glynn 00:32:58 Masters 49
123 Margaux Joetzjer 00:34:06 Senior 45
132 Aine Garvey 00:34:23 Masters 72
156 Stacey Marston 00:36:09 Masters 93
177 Caroline Ankcorn 00:37:44 Masters 109
200 Pauline Wright 00:39:09 Masters 126
234 Suzanne Bunn 00:43:45 Masters 152
271 Anna McManus 00:51:59 Masters 186
272 Linda Howell 00:52:00 Masters 187